Soyuz MS-11 rocket to the International Space Station with three new astronauts

Photo: Kaoru Nagasawa

Oleg Kononenko of Russia’s Roscomos, Anne McClain of NASA and David Saint-Jacques of the Canadian Space Agency are today new members of the Internation Space Station crew.

After a failed attempt to launch a rocket to the ISS in October because of a broken sensor, today was the day of success.

Soyuz rocket will now bring three new members to ISS. It was great news for the participating countries the success of today’s mission as everyone feared that even a small problem could have left the ISS empty with no astronauts for the first time in its 18 years history.

Even though ISS crew has enough supplies to last for several months, Soyuz capsule has a limited lifetime in space. This means that every 150-200 days all crew members are replaced and old ones evacuated in the same capsule they arrived.



Leave a comment